Preterm Esther-Day 5

Having a preterm baby will try your patience, your love, and dedication to your child. It could also try your relationship with your significant other. It will try your faith, but there is also peace in knowing that your babies’ in good hands.

Aside from having to deal with recovering from my c-section surgery, eating and providing the best milk possible, and other emotional aftermaths, having a great support team IS KEY. I cannot thank my friends, my family, and the NICU nurses enough for being there for my husband and I. It’s only been a couple of days, but my comfort level so far has gotten better. I do not have to worry that my baby is being hurt, or crying all the time because I’ve seen the nurses work and they do AWESOME. Constantly informing me of every change and every update. My parents have taken their turns making sure I am not alone with hubby isn’t around and assuring I have everything I need. The friends are constantly giving me uplifting words when I start to feel down.

I know it’s too early to tell the end outcome, and I know there will be up’s and down’s but it makes all the difference to know who you have by your side. I’ve also had God and many friends prayers every step of the way. It can be assuring to feel like you child is not another statistic. Your child is unique and yours. NO ONE cares for this child like you do. And most of all, I am NOT alone. I have yet to attend the first support social here at the hospital, but I’m looking forward to hearing other stories.

If you or a loved one have had a preterm baby and would like to share words of encouragement or advise, Please do so! I would love to hear what you have to say.

Leave a Reply

