Favorite Quote from Jane Austen

Yesterday I had mentioned that I had accepted the 31 day blog challenge. So I am keeping myself accountable for it and continuing with day 2. Today was a rough day that started at 6 am and it is now 12 am next day, long day BUT productful. Finished with a fuzzy feeling from Riesling, and …my husband just to got a spider for me that was on the wall…scary creatures.

Blog Challenge Day 2 – Favorite Quote/s

writinga traveljournal

My favorite quote? I can’t really say I have one, but if I’d have to pick one it would be: “There are few people whom I really love, and still fewer of whom I think well. The more I see of the world, the more am I dissatisfied with it; and every day confirms my belief of the inconsistency of all human characters, and of the little dependence that can be placed on the appearance of merit or sense.” ― Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice. 

I chose this in light of the recent events in the US right now and because I love that book. I find it to be SO true at my age and at this point in history. The older I get, the more I start to see the reality in society. The more I understand, the more I am unhappy. But I do not let it rob me of being happy. Because of my baby Esther I am forced to believe and create moments in my life that bring pleasure and happiness. It pushes me to try and create a world she can live in. I am no activist, but if I can make a difference in her life and make sure that she can enjoy life, I will try my darnest to make it happen. And I might turn people away with my next comment, but I believe in God, and I believe that He will pave the way so that my family and I will be able to enjoy the life He has provided to us. Especially her and challenges she has faced. (if you haven’t had a chance to take a look at my Family Life posts, it explains some of her times at the NICU.)

Jane might have written this as a book, but she definitely was speaking about society around her, and it holds true even now. But we cannot let that hold us down. I encourage you to step outside your comfort zone and do something different that will help someone else in these troubling times. Do something out of the ordinary. And enjoy life. Leave a comment, tell me what you think.

Edit: Check Blog Day 3 to see the rules on the 31 Day Blog Challenge  .

2 thoughts on “Favorite Quote from Jane Austen

  1. Pingback: 4 Movies to Watch

Leave a Reply

