Storm in January

#TheDailyPost #Storm

January 2nd

5PM- I attend a house warming party which was also kinda like a later New Years party on Saturday.

8PM- I’m 24 weeks (about 6 mths) pregnant so I do what all ladies need to do, use the ladies room. I find out that its not a regular visit and the leaking won’t stop

8:30PM Run to the closest hospital which is less then 2 miles away, not the greatest hospital, but a hospital none-the-less.

9PM- Why the heck are they not attending me! It’s been an hour, the leaking still hasn’t stopped, I’m pregnant, can I please get some service? I urge the front desk lady to get me a room. I get one in 5 mins

10:30PM- After having blood taken out, my vitals taken and being visited by 3 doctors one FINALLY tells me they don’t have an OBGYN available as that part of the hospital is no longer in service. They will be rush me to the closest hospital in an ambulance. The doctor also mentions that his wife has had 3 miscarriages but that they now have 5 children. I am young and shouldn’t worry. …WTF???? are you telling me I might loose my baby and its okay because I’m young?!??!

Ambulance-I start to get contractions and measure them. They are 5 mins apart.

11PM-I get to the new hospital which I am familiar with. They run tests and take more blood and ask real questions. These people know what they are doing, but what is happening to me? Am I in labor? Is the baby okay? What does it mean that the baby breached?

11:30PM- I get my own room. I still have contractions so they give me medications to stop the contractions. My babies heart rate is through the roof. I will need to give birth but before I do the baby needs steroids so it’s (at this point I still didn’t know what it was. That Wednesday I was supposed to find out) lungs are not ready for breathing this small.

12AM- They give me the steroids, I’m running a fever so they try to control that. I have a catheter, 5 nurses, 3 doctors and my OBGYN in the room. I have no idea what’s going on and the only person I recognize is my husband. I try to stay as calm as possible for my baby.

I sleep through the night. Have a specific diet and await my second steroid shot which is 24 hrs from the last one.

Monday 4 or 5 ishAM- They recently gave me the second shot. The contractions are coming in full throttle. They say its time for the baby to come. She is breached and I have an infection so it will HAVE to be a C-section which I did not want.

9AM sharp- Esther is born. It’s a girl. She weighs 1.5 lbs and is 11 inches long.

This was only the beginning of a rough, traumatic, and hopeful start to Esther and our lives. January was a complete storm. It took us by surprise. We were unprepared and caught in the dark. The NICU was our shelter, our umbrella in the storm. With their support groups, what I consider the best doctors in the area and awesome nurses I was able to be positive and sane.

For more on Esther or NICU Tips for You  check out my blog.

If you’re going through a situation and have found writing a blog to be an outlet, let me know and leave a comment. I would love to hear about it.

Leave a Reply

